CareFlight’s goal is to provide a world class rapid response medical retrieval service. 
In achieving this goal, CareFlight’s Board of Directors and employees are expected to conduct themselves ethically and to adhere to the highest standards of integrity and professionalism.

corporate governance statement (pdf)

Code of Conduct and Ethics

The community has a right to expect that charitable organisations are conducted efficiently and effectively, with integrity and transparency.

The CareFlight Code of Conduct and Ethics prescribes behavioural, professional and ethical standards expected of the Board of Directors and employees in carrying out their duties. The Code is intended to ensure employees perform their duties in a professional manner which demonstrates respect for the individual, promotes public confidence and trust in charities and enhances CareFlight’s reputation in the community.

CareFlight seeks to promote an organisational culture that reflects the underlying values of fairness, respect and integrity.

The Code of Conduct and Ethics aims to ensure that CareFlight employees are aware of their rights and responsibilities. The Code also fosters a work environment which promotes peak performance and a fulfilling and enjoyable work experience.

The Code of Conduct and Ethics is set out in full in CareFlight’s Policy & Procedures Manual.

The Board

The Board’s role is to:

  • provide strategic leadership and direction for CareFlight
  • set management’s goals and approve the annual budget
  • monitor and review the Company’s risk management strategies including the integrity of internal control and management information systems.

The Board constantly monitors and reviews the Company’s compliance with its statutory obligations. This ensures that the Company meets its legal obligations. It also provides assurance to CareFlight supporters that their decision to support CareFlight is making a difference to the community.

The Board appoints and monitors the performance of the Chief Executive Officer. The CEO is accountable to the Board for the management of CareFlight within the policy and delegated authority levels approved by the Board.

Directors are expected to act with the highest ethical standards, having regard to CareFlight’s vision, mission and guiding principles, charitable status and community service ethos. The Board supports and observes the Code of Conduct for Directors issued by the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

A full description of the Board’s role appears in the Corporate Governance Statement.

Board Members

The Hon Dr Andrew Refshauge MBBS, FAICD

Andrew Refshauge

Non-Executive Director Chairman of the Board

Andrew was the Deputy Premier of NSW from 1995 until 2005, and a former Treasurer and Health Minister. Andrew also is Chair of the NSW Far West Local Health District. During his political career he also held portfolio responsibilities in Aboriginal Affairs, Planning, Housing, State Development and Education and Training. Prior to his parliamentary service, he was a medical practitioner and served as Senior Medical Officer at the Aboriginal Medical Service in Redfern, NSW.

Mick Frewen, BA, MMgt, GAICD

Mick Frewen

Chief Executive Officer

Mick has many years of management experience in the aeromedical retrieval and medical services sector coming to CareFlight after a long career with International SOS. Mick commenced his career in the military, serving for 20 years in the army in Commando and SAS roles, retiring with the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. Mick’s demonstrated experience in leading organisations in challenging commercial and military roles, combined with his experience in and knowledge of the emergency medical retrieval sector, make him eminently well qualified to lead CareFlight.

Patricia Angus PSM, MTH

Patricia Angus

Non-Executive Director

Trish spent 26 years in the NT Public Service. A senior executive, she worked predominantly in health, housing, human services, local government and Aboriginal affairs. After her retirement she was appointed a member of the Top End Health Service Board. Prior to joining the NT Public Service, Trish worked in diverse areas including public hospitals, the Australian Defence Force and the community sector. Trish was awarded the Public Service Medal in the 2013 Australia Day Honours Awards. Trish has been a Director since June 2013.

Dr Nick Coatsworth MBBS (Hons), MIntPH FRACP

Dr Nick Coatsworth

Non-Executive Director

Nick is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and specialises in both respiratory medicine and infectious diseases. He is currently Director of Infectious Diseases at Canberra Hospital and was previously Executive Director at the National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre in Darwin. Nick is deeply committed to humanitarian causes. As a doctor with Medecins sans Frontieres, he has worked in Congo-Brazzaville, Chad and in the Darfur region of Sudan. He was elected to the Board of Medecins sans Frontieres in Australia in 2008, serving as President in 2010 and 2011. In the Northern Territory, Nick is very involved with indigenous health, regularly visiting remote indigenous communities. Nick has been a Director since June 2015.

Garry Dinnie BComm, FCA, MAICD, MIIA(Aust), FAIM

Garry Dinnie

Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairman of the Audit Committee

Garry has more than 35 years’ experience in financial and accounting matters, risk management and regulatory regimes with broad-based business experience across a number of industries. He was a Senior Partner of leading accounting firm Ernst & Young for 25 years and has filled a senior and trusted advisory role with a large number of leading companies in Australia and internationally. Garry has been a Director since February 2010.

Anna Guillan, AM, MBA, GAICD

Anna Guillan

Independent Non-Executive Director

With a respected career in sales and marketing, Anna is the Australia and New Zealand Regional Director of Sales & Marketing for Kerzner International, a global operator of luxury resorts. An Alumnus of the year, and with an MBA in Tourism & Hotel Management, Anna served as Vice Chair of the Australian Tourism Export Council for many years and was acknowledged with their Outstanding Contribution to the Industry Award in 2013. Anna is the Co-Founder and Director of cancer support group, The NELUNE Foundation, and also currently serves on the board of corporate Commonwealth entity, Tourism Australia, and state statutory body, Tourism and Events Queensland. Anna has been a Director since December 2010.

Ian Vanderbeek, BBus, GAICD

Ian Vanderbeek

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ian started his aviation career in 1981 as a pilot in Papua New Guinea before moving to Europe in 1988 to fly for a large London based charter airline. There he transitioned into aviation management, with responsibility for safety and quality functions within the airline. He was then appointed Operations Director, and later Managing Director. He has over two decades’ experience as a Managing Director and CEO of fixed wing and rotary aviation companies. In addition to his European experience, Ian has also worked in regional and corporate aviation in Australia and Asia. In 2013 Ian was appointed CEO of Sydney based Aviator Group. Ian has been a Director since December 2016.